Professional Advancement Committee

Contact Information

Anh Nguyen

Chair Requirements

Tenured Faculty - Recommendation elected by committee - Two Year Term

Please submit all Professional Advancement documents (proposals, completion reports, official transcripts, etc.) via email to Anh Nguyen at
Salary advancement forms should be received by the PAC Chair by the first Monday of each month during the academic year for review at that month's meeting.

Committee Membership

Professional Advancement Committee members
Administrators (1) Classified (0) Faculty (7) Students (0)
(non-voting) (must be tenured)
Cheryl Barnard Carmen Carrasquillo (School of Liberal Arts)
Anh Nguyen (Student Services), Chair
Ken Reinstein (Faculty Evaluation Coordinator)
Ryan Monroy (School of BTCWI)
Roger Olson (School of PRIELT)
Melissa Wolfson (School of MBEPS)
John Salinsky (School of Public Safety)

Committee Responsibilities

The duties of the Professional Advancement Committee shall be as follows:

  1. Salary Advancement and Sabbaticals
    • Review professional growth plans and professional completion forms for faculty and make recommendations for approval.
    • Review sabbatical leave applications and make recommendations for faculty.
    • Review sabbatical completion reports from faculty and recommend acceptance.
  2. Evaluate Faculty Employees for Promotion and Tenure recommendations as provided for in the current Bargaining Unit Contract with the San Diego Community College District.

Committee Procedures

It will recommend to the Academic Senate at least two Faculty members to participate in, and report on the District Professional Council as defined by the Bargaining Unit Contract with the District.

Committee will meet no less than once per month at a regularly scheduled time.